9704 Royal Street
St. Francisville, LA 70775
(225) 635-6116

About Us

The History of Shadetree Inn

The main house is a pre-civil war cottage that was moved from Bayou Sara after the great Mississippi River flood of 1927. Son of governor Robert F. Kennon and practicing attorney Kenwood Kennon purchased the property in 1973 and did a major adaptive restoration.

In 1974, Kenwood opened Shadetree Antiques and lived upstairs over the shop. After the birth of his daughter Alexandra, Kenwood and his wife Ellen, a NYC interior designer, converted the second floor into the first suite. After being open a year, The Loft was featured in Southern Living Magazine, inspiring the construction of the Gardner’s Cottage, followed by turning the east side of the antiques shop into the Sun Porch.

The Charm of St. Francisville

St. Francisville is a historic and charming little town nestled in the beautiful Tunica Hills of West Feliciana Parish. Well-known for its abundance and variety of flora and fauna that inspired artist-naturalist John James Audubon, who painted many of his Birds of America series while living in the area during the 1820s; the region was settled by English planters in the 1700’s. Several of the original plantation and antebellum homes and gardens are still standing, restored and open to the public year-round. There is a lot for the history and antiquity buff to enjoy, as well as nature trails, biking and exceptional birdwatching right here at Shadetree Inn.